Hello World…Again

It’s been an awful long time hasn’t it?

I moved to Dublin in January to work for Bord Bia for six months as part of my college degree. A lot has happened to me so far but looking back on it now I guess its been a cool couple of months. But the cool things get entire paragraphs by themselves. 🙂

First of all when it was all icy in January, my goddamn room had no heating. Three layers of pyjamas was fun for a while but it turned for the better when Lexy trudged into town to give me an electric blanket. I flooded the kitchen twice trying to get the washer working and slipped for my sins, luckily enough housemates weren’t home at the time. Shower flooded apartment below twice. I went slightly nuts as I had no book to read and realised how much I love reading. After three weeks of main meals everyday in work, my jeans were *slightly* uncomfortable, which lead to a week of crackers, soup, apples and grapes.

Which in turn leads us up the weekend when I attended Crisis Communications hosted by the charming Damien Mulley from Mulley Communications, held at he Radisson Blu on Golden Lane. (Apologies for the late posting, as you’ll see, I’ve been an awfully busy chicken.) I misjudged the amount of time it would take for me to reach the city centre and ended up with a breakfast of chocolate bars but I managed to power-walk into town in twenty minutes. I digress, let’s get into the bones of the Crisis Comms day. Damien showed us examples of how companies reacted in crisis giving case studies of how problems should and should not be handled, especially when it means being kicked in the nuts by other online personalities.

One of the case studies was of Boards.ie given by Darragh Doyle and he explained and discussed the steps they took the previous Thursday when the initial hack of all their users login details occurred. The issue of blogger contact templates being more widely used by PR companies was broached. It seems when it comes to the traditional means of a PR sending out your crap with a ‘Dear <insert name here>’ out to a blogger is still happening. This is where I give you such permission to kick someone in the nuts. 🙂 Later on we discussed the tools and monitoring strategies we use to keep an eye on the web, ’cause you know it’s such a naughty little thing. One idea that firmly stuck with me is the thought of a Social Media Philosophy not a Social Media Policy, since a policy is governed by rules and what not but a philosophy is in murkier ground. 🙂 Also, I wish I took better notes, my writing is horrible and I need a decoder to read it. At the lunch break I ran to a wool shop and bought some roving and a spindle to see if I like spinning but I don’t. 🙂

Then I had chickenpox. If you know me really when, then you know I’ve a thing against live clucky chickens. Stayed in Dublin that week and had photosensitivity and fever symptoms. Also, bought my first game on Steam but I know I’ll never be a master with the directional buttons. That weekend, ATM card died, had no money for a week. Met up with an outdoorsy friend from college and walked on to Clontarf to Bull Island. If I thought the chickenpox hadn’t killed me, the five hour walk/hike almost did, especially when I’m not a very fit person. And then came another big event…

Marketplace 2010 was an event held by Bord Bia in Croke park this month. Nearly 400 buyers, around 150 Irish companies and Bord Bia staff which made the numbers close to the thousand mark and over 3,800 meetings took place. It was my first time at Croke Park and I was simply stunned by the size of it, especially the event ran the entire length of the pitch. I had to be at the stadium at 7.30 a.m. and was trying to flag a taxi but the kept passing me. I even crossed the road a couple of times to hail a cab but they kept going. Then a homeless bearded guy on a bike passed me and yelled, ‘Oh yeah baby, yeah! Keep shaking that ass baby, yeah!’ Let’s move swiftly on. My job was a meeting minder so I was the person of contact for eight companies to make sure everything ran smoothly. I was so proud of my little gold badge but it quickly faded as the day wore on my legs became bowlegged with the walking. The day was a great success but on Wednesday in work everyone was a bit subdued and I can vouch for the fact I was walking like a crab.

Last weekend went to see Wolfman instead of Ponyo. Very, very bad. Do not see. And it looks like I’ll miss Ponyo again today since it start in less that a half hour and I’m still in pyjamas. This week, I paid my part of the TV licence, joined the library, bought my very first track off iTunes recommended by Charles,  met up with outdoorsy friend for a hot chocolate and joined Xtravision. I rented Bones season 1 and on the last disc. So I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my time here so far, as I’ve probably already left to go to Xtravision and buy some groceries. 😀

Leave a Reply

